No-Sew Tutu

WE’VE MOVED! Go to www.pinkpolkadotbaker.com to see what we have been working on!

Finished Tutu with title

While I was at the craft store picking up supplies for my “Fauxby” Wrap, I also picked up supplies to make a no-sew tutu. I had found a tutorial at Treasures for Tots and knew I could handle putting this tutu together.

For the tutu, I purchased two 6″ spools of tulle (light pink and a shimmery gray) and 3 feet of black satin ribbon. The supplies cost me about $10, but the gray tulle was a bit more expensive because it was shimmery.

To begin, I followed Treasures for Tots directions to cut the tulle using a 15″ by 7″ piece of cardboard.

First, I wrapped the pink tulle around the cardboard.

Pink Rolled with words

Then I used two rubber bands to secure the tulle in place.

Pink Banded with words

I was then able to easily cut the tulle to make my 15″ pieces.

Pink Cut with words

I took the rubber bands off, made a stack with the pieces, then did the same thing with the gray tulle.

Gray Rolled with words

Gray Banded and Cut with words

Then it was time to make the tutu! I took my stacks of tulle and alternated between three pieces of pink and three pieces of gray. To attach the tulle to the ribbon I used a slip knot.

Knot with words

I know my picture isn’t too clear, but there are some great pics on the Treasures for Tots website.

To make a slip knot, take one piece of tulle and fold it in half. Place it under the ribbon, then pull your “tails” through the loop going around the ribbon. Pull tight and push the knots as close together as possible to make your tutu fluffier!

It took me about 45 minutes, start to finish, to make the tutu. It was super easy and I am totally in love with it! I can’t wait to put it on my little cupcake!!

Finished Tutu with words

Happy crafting!
Heather

Leave a Reply

