Cookies and Cream Cupcakes with Marshmallow Buttercream Frosting

WE’VE MOVED! Go to www.pinkpolkadotbaker.com to see what we have been working on!

Cookies and Cream Cupcakes with Marshmallow Buttercream

My husband and I had family over for a BBQ this weekend and I needed to make some camera cake pops for my friend, Beryl, so I decided to make Cookies and Cream Cupcakes and Cake Pops. My husband loves them…and I do, too! I decided to use a box mix, but made a few changes using a picture I pinned on Pinterest. (Unfortunately, I’m unable to link to the pin- it is just a picture and doesn’t include the directions for baking the cake!) The pin said that by making a few changes to the box recipe, your cake will taste like homemade.

I bought a Butter Recipe Yellow Cake and, following the suggestions on the pin, I added one more egg to the batter, used milk (I used vanilla flavored coconut milk) instead of water, and since this was already a butter recipe, I didn’t have to change out oil for butter. However, if you use a box mix that calls for oil, switch it out for butter and the directions say to use twice as much butter as the amount of oil the box calls for. I wasn’t sure what would happen with the cupcakes, but was hoping for the best when the batter turned out very thick.

Mixed batter

At this point, I folded in crushed Oreos.

With Oreos

I made 12 cupcakes with the batter and used the rest to make a cake in my 8 x 8 pan to use for the cake pops.

Cupcakes before Oven

I put both in the oven- the cupcakes were done after about 18 minutes and the cake took about 25 minutes.

Baked

While the cupcakes were cooling I used the same recipe for the frosting as I used in my Oreo Cupcakes post, which comes from Lil’ Luna’s website. This super easy Marshmallow Buttercream calls for 4 ingredients and takes all of 5 minutes to make (if that).

To make the frosting you will need:

1 cup butter at room temperature (I ALWAYS forget to take the butter out early enough so I have found that putting it in the microwave for approximately 30 seconds, then 10 second intervals until my finger will leave an indentation works well)
1 7oz jar of marshmallow fluff
1 cup powdered sugar
1 tsp. vanilla

First, mix the butter and sugar using the mixer until they are creamy. Then, stir in the marshmallow fluff and vanilla by hand. Put the frosting in your piping bag and pipe onto your completely cooled cupcakes! If you try to frost them before they cool, it is likely the frosting will melt- give them at least 30 minutes to cool and I have found putting them on a cooling rack really helps.

After you have piped on the frosting, add some cookie crumbles to the top of the cupcake!
Up Close Cupcake

Enjoy your delicious cupcake!
Cupcake with Packages

I did find that making the few changes to the box recipe did make the cupcakes taste better- everyone LOVED the cupcakes at the BBQ! From what I could tell from my taste-tests, the cake pops were quite delicious as well, although they were a little harder to mold. I either mixed in too much frosting, or the cream from the Oreo cookies made the consistency a little moister. I’m pretty sure that even though they were not up to my standards of perfection in the molding department, the flavor was excellent!

Baking love,
Heather

4 thoughts on “Cookies and Cream Cupcakes with Marshmallow Buttercream Frosting

  1. Do you think this frosting would hold up well if the cupcakes were frosted a day in advance and placed in the refrigerator overnight? I’m planning a birthday party, but would like to get as much done in advance as possible. This frosting sounds too good to pass up!

    • I definitely think it would hold up. We had the leftover cupcakes on the counter until the next day and they were just as delicious! I always hesitate to put cupcakes in the fridge, though, because I have found it sometimes takes away some of the moistness of the cupcake. If its only for the night, I’m sure they’ll be fine!

  2. Pingback: Dessert Buffet Fun! | Bake 'n Create

Leave a Reply

