Overnight Baked French Toast Casserole

WE’VE MOVED! Go to www.pinkpolkadotbaker.com to see what we have been working on!

Baked French Toast

Over Memorial Day weekend we had some friends and their kids come to visit. I figured I’d make breakfast each morning for all of us and one of the things I LOVE to make is Overnight French Toast. I don’t think I’ve made the same french toast recipe twice because I’ve either thought it was too sweet, too sticky, or not sweet enough…just call me Goldilocks when it comes to overnight french toast. However, my search for a delicious french toast recipe may have just come to an end…

While on Pinterest (because I’m obsessed), I found Paula Deen’s Baked French Toast Casserole with Maple Syrup recipe. I thought I’d give it a try, and I certainly was not disappointed in this recipe! This buttery, delicious, sweet goodness had the perfect amount of bread, eggs, and pecan topping to balance everything out. I noticed that some people said they thought it was too buttery, but I, personally, loved the buttery goodness in the topping!

Anyway, to make this yummy breakfast dish you will need…

Ingredients
1 loaf French bread- mine was a day old and the perfect for this dish!
8 large eggs
2 cups half-and-half
1 cup milk- I used vanilla soy milk which I think added to the flavor
2 tablespoons granulated sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
Dash salt
Maple Syrup
Praline Topping: (I made this in the morning)
1/2 pound (2 sticks) butter
1 cup packed light brown sugar
1 cup chopped pecans
2 tablespoons light corn syrup
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
Combine all ingredients in a medium bowl and mix well.

Directions
Slice French bread into enough slices to cover the bottom of a 9 by 13-inch buttered baking dish, 1-inch each. In a large bowl, combine the eggs, half-and-half, milk, sugar, vanilla, cinnamon, nutmeg and salt and beat with a rotary beater or whisk until blended but not too bubbly. Pour mixture over the bread slices, making sure all are covered evenly with the milk-egg mixture. (I had plenty to cover all the bread and for it to be soaking the mixture that was left on the bottom of the pan.) Cover and refrigerate overnight.

The next morning, preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

Spread Praline Topping evenly over the bread.

Before Oven

Bake for 40 minutes, until puffed and lightly golden. Serve with maple syrup.

Baked

I served the french toast with bacon and fresh fruit- it was a delicious breakfast all around!

Baking love,
Heather

Leave a Reply

