Baby Shower Cupcakes!

WE’VE MOVED! Go to www.pinkpolkadotbaker.com to see what we have been working on!

Finished Cupcakes with words

A good friend is due in April and her baby shower was this weekend. Her sister asked if I would make a little something sweet for everyone and I was happy to do so!

To make the cupcakes, I used a recipe my sister suggested at Glorious Treats‘ website. To make the cupcakes, I followed the recipe exactly. One thing that was a little worrisome was how thin the batter is after putting in the boiling water. This is what mine looked like:

Batter

I used the advice to pour the batter into the cupcake holders using a measuring cup, which worked out very nicely, with the exception that they weren’t as uniform in size as I like. It was hard to determine how much to put in while pouring!

In Oven

The recipe says the batter will be thin and they will turn out fine…and it was right!

Baked

To make the buttercream, I used the recipe found at Savory Sweet Life‘s website. This buttercream was delicious and I highly recommend the recipe!!

To color the icing, I used Wilton’s copper coloring. I actually put WAY too much in the frosting and it turned out a completely orange color. I ended up making another batch of buttercream and added half of it to what I already made, but lightened the color enough to make it more of a peach skin color.

I colored the remaining frosting with black Wilton coloring and I had to use quite a bit to get it to the color it was. It still had a purple-y feel to it, but it was harder to tell in the small quantity that was actually on the cupcakes. I used Wilton tip #3 to pipe on the hair, eyes, and nose.

For the cheeks, I used raspberry flavored pink M & M’s, which were totally a happy accident I came across while at the grocery store. The pacifiers were Wilton’s candy pacifiers, which I found on Amazon.

Finished Cupcakes

These cupcakes were so fun to make and everyone seemed to love them!

At Shower

Baking love!
Heather

One thought on “Baby Shower Cupcakes!

Leave a Reply

