Chocolate Pretzel Coconut Layer Bars

WE’VE MOVED! Go to www.pinkpolkadotbaker.com to see what we have been working on!

1

Every few weeks I have a work meeting with other teachers in the same position as me and I (almost) always bring some kind of treat for everyone. This week, one of the other teachers asked if I would bring something chocolatey and coconuty…I was happy to oblige, seeing how these are two of my favorite flavors!

After searching the internet a bit for the perfect recipe, I ran across these Chocolate Pretzel Coconut Layer Bars on the Very Best Baking website. These sounded so delicious, I had to make them!!

To make the bars you will need:
(The amounts are what are in the original recipe, but the only thing I actually “measured” were the things that didn’t really need measuring- cake mix, butter, egg, and milk):

1 pkg German Chocolate Cake
1/2 crushed pretzels
1/2 cup butter, softened (the regular recipe calls for it to be melted, but mine came out just fine just softened)
1 large egg, slightly beaten
1 cup semi-sweet chocolate morsels (I actually used the entire package…I love chocolate!)
1 cup butterscotch flavored morsels (I used about half of a package)
1 cup flaked coconut (I used half a package)
1 cup chopped pecans (I used an entire small bag)
1 can (14 oz) sweetened condensed milk

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease a 13×9 inch baking pan.
2. Combine the cake mix, pretzels, butter, and egg in a bowl. Mix on medium until well mixed.
3. Press the mixture into the bottom of the pan. I found it was MUCH easier to just use my hands for this part.
4. Bake for 15 minutes or until crust is puffy and looks dry. Cool for 5 minutes.
5. Layer remaining ingredients over the crust. Pour the sweetened condensed last.
6. Bake for 30 minutes or until the edges are golden brown. Cool completely! Cut into bars and enjoy!

2

These bars were a complete hit at my meeting- everyone loved them and were raving about them! I loved that this was something I could bake, but I didn’t have to worry so much about exact measurements. I really don’t think you can go with the combination of ingredients used here!

Baking love,
Heather

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Pretzel Coconut Layer Bars

Leave a Reply

