Gluten-Free Cake Pops

WE’VE MOVED! Go to www.pinkpolkadotbaker.com to see what we have been working on!

Finished Cake Pops

Tomorrow I am taking a photography class from my friend, Beryl. Like I mentioned in a previous post, she asked me to make a little something for the participants coming to the class. We settled on the camera cake pops and I decided to make them gluten-free so she could also enjoy in the deliciousness. To make the cake, I used the same recipe as I used for the Gluten-Free Chocolate Cupcakes. The recipe for the cake can be found at food.com.

To begin, I gathered all my ingredients. I started by mixing my dry ingredients in the stand mixer.

Dry Ingredients

After the ingredients were mixed well, I added all the wet ingredients one by one, using a spatula to push down any batter stuck to the sides of the bowl.

Wet Ingredients

Then, I poured all the ingredients in my pan that I had prepared by spraying with cooking spray and powdering with gluten-free flour. The cake was in the oven for about 33 minutes, until it came out looking like this:
Finished Cake

I let the cake cool, then followed my normal cake pop procedures! First, I broke up the cake.
Broken Up Cake

Then, I used a gluten-free frosting to mix with the pieces- I only put in about half of the container, since this cake was a bit smaller than what I usually make, and ended up adding about a third of what was left to the mix to make it the right consistency.
Frosting Container

Cake with Frosting

Frosting Jar

I mixed everything up…
Dough Mix

Then molded the batter into cameras!
Cameras on Pan

I put the cameras in the freezer to set and set up my decorating area while I was waiting.
Table Prep

After about 15 minutes, I pulled the cameras out of the freezer and got to work- first with the sticks, then completing the rest of the camera!

Cake Pops with Sticks

Camera Cake Pops

I did find that the consistency of the cake was a bit different than the cake mixes that I normally use and had a tendency to fall apart when I was trying to tap off the excess chocolate. I had a few casualties so, to remedy the situation, I put the cake pops back in the freezer and they were much easier to handle. In the end, I have plenty of super cute camera cake pops for the participants!

Finished Pops

Baking love,
Heather

3 thoughts on “Gluten-Free Cake Pops

    • Thanks! I found the cake to be pretty tasty and I don’t think anyone in the photography class I took knew that they were gluten-free until we told them. I haven’t experimented with the flour-blend in any other recipes, though, so I don’t know if it’s good all around or just in chocolate cakes! 🙂

Leave a Reply

