Gluten-Free Flour Blend

WE’VE MOVED! Go to www.pinkpolkadotbaker.com to see what we have been working on!

My friend Beryl, who is an awesome photographer and is going to teach me how to take beautiful pictures of my baked goods, is gluten-free. I am always telling her about the recipes I am making. Wanting to share my baking love with her, I’m going to try out some gluten-free recipes so she can (hopefully) have some deliciousness to enjoy! In order to make a gluten-free chocolate cake recipe I found, I need to have a gluten-free flour blend. I found a recipe for one at food.com. We ordered all the ingredients, which came in a few days ago. Tonight I was finally able to make the blend, which actually only took me about 5 minutes to put together.

Flour Pic

To make my blend, I actually halved the recipe because I only had one bag of the Thai Rice Flour. Hopefully it still works well in the cake!

The original recipe calls for:
6 cups oriental rice flour (Thai)
2 cups potato starch (not flour)
1 cup tapioca starch

And I used:
3 cups oriental rice flour (Thai)
1 cup potato starch
1/2 cup tapioca starch

To anyone who bakes gluten-free often, what do you find to be the best blend? Any tips or tricks for someone just venturing into the world of gluten-free baking? Any blogs or recipes I should check out to help me to make the most delicious gluten-free goods for my friend?

Thanks for any help!
Baking love!
Heather

7 thoughts on “Gluten-Free Flour Blend

  1. Isn’t it wonderful to have a photographer friend! I’ve never used the Oriental rice flour before, but the rest of the flours are in my cupboard. I like the idea of making my own mix. I usually just mix the flours on a whim at the last minute when I’m creating recipes. The mix would be good for standard items such as cookies and breads. Cheers!

    • From what I’ve read, it look like the Oriental rice flour is ground a little finer so the baked goods aren’t gritty. I’m hoping the flour mix works well, otherwise I’ll be on a search for something different! 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

  2. Pingback: Gluten-Free Vanilla Cupcakes with Vanilla Buttercream Frosting | Bake 'n Create

Leave a Reply

