No-Sew “Fauxby” Wrap

WE’VE MOVED! Go to www.pinkpolkadotbaker.com to see what we have been working on!

Fauxby Wrap Title

Since I’m pregnant I’ve been looking for ways to save money on all the things I will need/want for the baby. One thing I’ve heard is good to have is a Moby Wrap. After going to the store and seeing how much they cost, I decided against registering for one, but rather took a friend’s advice to make my own. I went on a hunt for a “Fauxby” Wrap tutorial and came across Rookie Moms website. Their directions looked easy enough, so I set off for the fabric store!

At the store I purchased 5 yards of a 4% spandex, 96% cotton knit fabric. (I couldn’t find 5% and 95%, but the fabric still seemed stretchy enough.) It cost me a little under $30 for the fabric.

When I got home, I laid out the fabric folded in half.

Fabric with words

Then I cut along the fold.

Long Cut with words

Cut with words

And then I was done! I now have not one, but two “Fauxby” Wraps to use when my little cupcake arrives! And, honestly, the hardest part of the whole project was finding the fabric!

There is a good video on the Rookie Moms site that shows how to put on the Moby Wrap- I’ll definitely need to use this when baby girl is here, but I tried it out (even over my pregnant belly) and it looks like my “Fauxby” Wrap is going to work just fine!

Happy crafting!
Heather

4 thoughts on “No-Sew “Fauxby” Wrap

  1. Pingback: No-Sew Tutu | Bake 'n Create

  2. Pingback: Reader did-do: No-sew “Fauxby” wrap

    • From what I can tell so far, I don’t think so. The edges roll a little bit since the fabric is stretchy, but that’s it! If you are worried that they will fray, you could always do a quick hem around the edges. As long as you don’t mind the fabric rolling up slightly, I don’t think it’s necessary!

Leave a Reply

