Chocolate Salted Caramel Cupcakes

Finished cupcake close up 2

A friend of mine mentioned that her birthday is Monday so I immediately thought, “I need to make her cupcakes!” I asked her favorite flavors and she said chocolate and salted caramel. I was then on a mission to find a delicious chocolate salted caramel cupcake recipe. During my search I came across a recipe for chocolate salted caramel cupcakes at 20something Cupakes. Well, if this wasn’t perfect, then I don’t know what is!

I found the recipe on Thursday, which meant I had to wait until Sunday to bake the cupcakes- talk about torture! I couldn’t wait to bake these things!! I was also VERY excited to make caramel sauce from scratch.

So today, after a restless sleep because I was so excited (yes, I’m serious…it’s the little things in life, right?) I gathered all the ingredients and set to work creating the cupcakes.

I followed all the recipes exactly and was NOT disappointed in my results!

Some helpful tips:
-When I made the cake batter it turned out very thin. Don’t worry- this is how it is supposed to be! I filled the cups about 2/3 of the way full, like the recipe says, and the cupcakes came out perfect!
-You don’t need to cut down too far in the cupcake to make the hole for the caramel. Mine looked like this: Cupcake with hole
-I was slightly worried about making the caramel sauce- I wanted it to be perfect! If you follow the recipe, it will be delicious. The secret is patience. I wasn’t sure my sauce would ever reach 360 degrees, but it did! Here are some pictures of the progress of my caramel, but watch the video at 20something Cupcakes- it’s super helpful!!

Caramel BubblingThe sauce is at about 250 degrees here.

Caramel Darker Bubbling
It is at about 355 degrees at this point.

Caramel Sauce
This is after I took it off the heat, added the cream, and the salt.

-When filling the cupcakes, put one teaspoon of caramel in each cupcake first. The caramel will settle a little- go back through and add a little more to fill up the hole you created. This is what mine looked like filled and with a little of the Fleur de Sel on top.
Cupcakes with caramel in middle and salt

-My frosting was not super thick, but oh so good. I opted to keep it just how it was, even though it was a bit thinner than what I usually use. I didn’t want to change the flavor! I had my husband try the frosting…like I’ve mentioned, he’s not really that into sweet stuff, but when he tried this frosting he started licking the entire paddle! I guess he thought it was good too!
Frosting

-I frosted my cupcakes and added the bit of salt…
Cupcakes frosted

And decided I would drizzle the little bit of caramel I had left on top of my cupcakes!
Cupcakes with caramels drizzled

I’m so excited to share these delicious cupcakes with my friend for her birthday tomorrow- I hope she enjoys eating them as much as I enjoyed baking them!!

Baking love,
Heather

9 thoughts on “Chocolate Salted Caramel Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

